Josh's story

“My name is Josh and I am 22 years old.  This property is my first property where I have lived independently. Previously I have lived in shared accommodation with other young people and with Support Workers available 24/7 at the property. I feel I am ready to live on my own and to look at gaining more qualifications and finding a job, which is what I am currently working with my Support Worker on accessing.

I feel safe in my new home. I was offered a property with Humankind Housing and because of my circumstances I was supported to move in almost immediately.  Within this time Humankind made sure the gas and electricity was on and the house was clean and ready for me. 

The house also has a new kitchen, bathroom, boiler and is newly decorated so I’ve been able to settle here immediately.  This is my first experience of living on my own but Humankind provide me with support to help me stay safe and live independently.

If I have any questions I can contact the Humankind Housing Officer or Support Worker who will help me.  Since I found Humankind and moved into my home my life is much better.  My relationship with my family is improving and I visit both parents regularly.  If anything happens I can return to my own home and know I am safe. 

I feel more confident, calm and stable.  I also volunteer at a local shop and this is helping me with confidence and preparing me for employment. Humankind Housing has helped to make this possible by providing me with a house and support at a time of need.”

Find out more about our work with Humankind here. 

*Josh's name has been changed to protect his identity.